Winners of 100% Optical’s 2024 Love Eyewear Awards Announced

Following another year of record-breaking entries, the winners of the popular Love Eyewear Awards, sponsored by Shop AR, were announced during the 10th edition of 100% Optical (February 24th) the UK’s largest Optical event.

Industry experts, fashionista’s and optical enthusiasts all came together for the highly-anticipated award ceremony.

Carefully selected by a dedicated panel of judges made up of high profile designers, artists, academics, journalists and influencers from across the industry, the 2024 winners are:

  • New Designer 2024 – Okkul
  • Women’s Frame of the Year – Woody’s Eyewear
  • Women’s Sunglasses Frame of the Year – Danielle Rattray
  • Men’s Frame of the Year –  Filipe Diniz Lunettes
  • Men’s Sunglasses Frame of the Year – KOMONO
  • Unisex Frame of the Year – Struktur Eyewear
  • Luxury Frame of the Year – Filipe Diniz Lunettes
  • Kids Frame of the Year – JFrey
  • Sustainable Frame of the Year – Gotti Switzerland
  • Eyewear Accessory of the Year – Bird Eyewear
  • Best Innovation – FEB31st
  • Eyewear Retailer of the Year – Gogosha Optique
  • Most Engaging Practice Window – Finch Optical

In addition to the coveted Love Eyewear Awards, the organisers introduced a special new Lifetime Achievement Award that was presented to l.a.Eyeworks. Recognised for 45 years of honorary service to the optical industry, l.a.Eyeworks is an original, often iconoclastic, and always invigorating, eyeglasses company founded by Barbara McReynolds and Gai Gherardi. l.a.Eyeworks are immediately recognised for their bold shapes, imaginative handling of materials, and expressive use of colour.

Gai Gherardi, l.a.Eyeworks co-founder/designer, commented: “It was our early experiences as opticians that inspired Barbara McReynolds and me to begin l.a.Eyeworks in 1979 with a dream of celebrating faces and a mission to change the conversation about eyewear.

“From the start we followed our intuition, and that, along with tremendous support from free-thinking frame lovers around the world, has carried us to this moment 44 years later to humbly receive this wonderful honour from 100% Optical with heartfelt gratitude.” 

Selin Pera, Senior Marketing Executive at 100% Optical, commented: “With so many new faces entering the awards this year, the judges had a tough time choosing the winners. All entries showcased pure craftsmanship and creativity, and this is a reflection of the optical industry and it highlights what the 100% Optical show is all about. Huge congratulations to all the winners and those who entered!

“As we come to a new decade of 100% Optical, it was important for us to reflect back on our 10 years and reflect on the leaders in the industry. For the first time, we announced a surprise Lifetime Achievement Award. Congratulations to Barbara and Gai at l.a.Eyeworks for all that you have done in the optical industry. True pioneers who are so authentically themselves and taking the industry by storm. These two women are truly an inspiration to many and it’s an honour for us to award them and the rest of the l.a.Eyeworks team the Lifetime Achievement Award.” 

For further updates and announcements for the 2024 show ,visit @100optical #100optical on social media.