Submissions for the 2019 Transitions Innovation Awards Program are now open at This program recognizes loyal partners of Transitions Optical and individual optical industry professionals from the U.S. and Canada, for their commitment to the Transitions®  brand. This year, there is a new category, the Eyecare Practice of the Year Canada.

Entries are open to independent eyecare professionals and practices; optical industry professionals and educators; national and regional retailers; and optical laboratories. The seven Transitions Innovation Awards categories include: 

    • 2019 Transitions Brand Ambassador (Individual-only award)
    • U.S. Retailer of the Year
    • Canadian Retailer of the Year
    • Eyecare Practice of the Year U.S.
    • Eyecare Practice of the Year Canada
    • Best in Training   
    • Best in Marketing

“Each year, we look forward to the Transitions Innovation Awards to celebrate our partners and their accomplishments with the Transitions brand,” said Jose Alves, general manager, Americas, Transitions Optical. 

Nominations for all Transitions Innovation Awards will be accepted online (at until October 31, 2019. To enter, candidates must complete a nomination form and detail their 2019 efforts in the following evaluation areas: commitment and inspiration, goals, plan and creativity, and impact and results. Nominees are welcome to enter more than one category and can self-enter, or can be nominated by a lab, lens manufacturer, industry colleague or other industry organization representative. 

All finalists in each category will receive a trip for two to the 2020 Transitions Academy, February 2 – 5, in Orlando, Fla., where the winners will be announced.  Award finalists will be notified in December to secure travel plans.

For additional information, industry professionals should visit